Goodbye, Summer. Hello, School Year.

Goodbye, Summer.

Waking up to sunshine, falling asleep before the sunset. Preschool day camp. Children chanting my name when I walk in the door. Working at the same place as my husband. Quiet, long mornings. Walking to work (sometimes). Twitter and blog break. Lakes, camping, even corn on the cob, once. Classroom bins as the permanent squatters in the guest room. Job hunt. Job won. Cozy Wednesday evenings with mom. Siblings moving out, moving in together. Steaming cups of chai. Weekends of adventures, not lesson plans.

Hello, School Year.

Co-teaching for the first time. Unfamiliar classroom turned into home. The most adorable playground on the planet. Back to blogging. Putting birthdays and days off and Monday evening class and twitter chats on my calendar. Healthier eating, maybe. Laughing, happy, crying faces at meet the teacher. Laughing with my co-teacher. Learning new Google suite tricks. Losing my keys just before I have to leave because my husband put them back exactly where he took them from. Too-quick morning goodbyes and travel mugs.

Thank you, Summer, for the joy and rest.

I’m ready, School Year, for the joy and hard work ahead.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑